Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.
Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.
A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart? 

5/5 stars


I actually read this one before watching the movie buuut I read the book because of the movie. When I first watched the trailer I really enjoyed the story and decided to go for the book first.

The book tells the story of quirky and sweet Louisa Clark, who has recently lost her job and is actively searching for a new one to be able to help her family. That’s how she ends up working for Will Traynor, who became paralysed after and unfortunate motorcycle accident. By then he kind of just stops living and barely exists. Doesn’t feel any joy anymore, until the day Louisa enters his life bringing a new light to it.

I honestly couldn’t put this book down. This story didn’t feel like your everyday romantic cliché. For me it had a lot of depth. The story may be about a subject that not everyone can truly understand but Moyes really makes you think about what would happen and how we’d feel and react in a situation like this. She addresses relationships and human nature in a way that sheds a lot of light on how connecting with certain people can make you see life in a happier and more lively way. How much we can be influenced by those surrounding us.

The variety of characters only adds to this already beautiful story. Everyone has their own different strengths and weaknesses, and every single one of them brings something to the table. Like how Treena, Louisa’s sister, would at times be confusing and even a bit annoying but then she would also end up being the voice of reason at times. Then there is Louisa herself, which in my opinion is a ball of sunshine and I really really love her. She is so uniquely herself, and brings so much life to a room I couldn’t help but fall in love with her. I would definitely be great friends with her. And of course there is Will. He has been trough so much and is a character that has evolved so much that you can’t help but admire him. I really got invested on him as a person when he began showing Lou what it truly means to be alive. It really held the whole thematics of the book so well, and made me understand the points of view of those who sometimes make decisions that others may not agree with.

At the centre of all this there is the relationship between Lou and Will, a healthy and realistic one which holds respect, honesty and humor. It shows how even at times of disagreement they would come together because of the love they felt for each other and would support and try their very best to understand each others reasoning.

The story addresses many problems that most people would look over or not really imagine would be a problem, which actually brings a new light towards these circumstances.

I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a realistic romance but also just a beautiful story about humanity and the troubles of life. It’s not at all a perfect book, but I think its imperfections just add to its beauty.

Posted by

Hey! I'm Julia and in this blog I talk a bit about my reading life and some beloved books. I hope you enjoy your time around here! Don't forget to subscribe for updates!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s